What’s for Dinner? Week One.

Have you ever been in a dinner rut?  I think if my husband has to eat Creamy Chicken Fettuccine one more time, he might stage a revolt.  It is so easy to go to a favorite recipe at the end of a long day when I don’t have the mental or physical energy to come up with a better plan on the fly.  That brings me to the point of this post.  I shouldn’t be dinner planning “on the fly.”  It almost always ends badly.  Typically I menu plan 2-3 days in advance, max.  By Wednesday or so, I’m out of ideas and…you guessed it…Creamy Chicken Fettuccine…again…tonight.  So, in an effort to make my life easier and maybe help my friends out too, I’m going to publish our weekly menu.  I’ll include the links to the recipes I use and any notes from my experience making them.  I’ll try not to post anything that was terrible, so you can trust you will have a yummy dinner.

Disclaimers:

  1. I don’t eat fish (or anything that ever lived in the water).  Don’t try to persuade me otherwise.  You won’t find seafood on any of my menus.  That’s that!
  2. I don’t make elaborate dinners.  You get an entree and a side.  One side.  And that is a stretch if the entree is ‘all inclusive’ like a soup or casserole.
  3. I always serve bread.  If I forget to mention that in the menu, you can just insert it.  I love bread.  It is my weakness.  It is pure happiness to me.  I serve it with every meal.  I typically make it myself.  French bread, biscuits, rolls, cheese bread, muffins, cornbread, tortillas–I don’t care.  If you can put butter on it, it works for me.
  4. The items on my menu don’t always go together in a chef inspired sense.  I am not a chef.  I make what I like and what my kids will eat.  Sometimes that means crazy sides you don’t typically pair with a particular entree.
  5. I am a SAHM, so I’m at home to watch bread rise for 2 hours.  I am all for quick and easy, but most of the recipes I use take a little time.  However, there is typically a Crockpot meal or at least one 30-min meal a week.  I also like to prep during the day when babies are sleeping–go ahead and cut up veggies and such when you have time during the day.
  6. I use A Lot of recipes from Cooks Country.  Most of these recipes require you have subscription.  I highly recommend it.  The online subscription is affordable and well worth the money.  You can’t hardly go wrong with their recipes.  I know it’s hard to pay for recipes when there are some many online for free.  Just do it.  You won’t regret it!
  7. My daughter is Gluten-Free, so all my dinner menus can be made substituting GF ingredients.  Except the bread.  She just doesn’t eat it.  I eat it.
  8. I’ll post all my menus a week behind.  Meaning, I will have already made everything on the current menu a week prior.

Meatless Monday

I try to make at least one meatless meal a week.  The husband thinks this is worse than a Medieval torture device.  These meals typically combine the two things he loathes the most about a dinner menu:  no meat and pasta!  To satisfy his barbarian ways, sometimes I will use just a little tiny bit of meat.  I consider this a big time Meatless (or almost meatless) Monday score.  Not pasta and 1 chicken breast to split between 5 people.  If your hubby is less of a caveman, skip the chicken!  Avocado.  Need I say more?

  1. Chicken Fried Rice
  2. Avocado Egg Rolls with Chipotle Ranch Dressing

Tuesday

  1. Skirt steak with Paprika Butter
  2. Potatoes Romanoff – This is a great alternative to mashed potatoes.  It is easy and heavenly!

Slow Cooker Wednesday

On Wednesday dinner needs to be on the table at 5:00 p.m. so we can eat and be at church by 6:15.  This can be tricky if something goes awry in our day or we have errands to run.  Slow Cooker meals are perfect for us on Wed. and ensures my family gets a good meal and we don’t run the risk of hitting a drive-thru on the way to church because we ran out of time!  I’m not going to lie, we ate at Chick-fil-a this week.  Don’t judge.

  1. Slow-Cooker Beef Stroganoff  (I serve this over brown rice instead of egg noodles
  2. Easy Crescent Rolls – they really are easy and buttery and wonderful in every way.
  3. Brown Rice

Thursday

These are amazing and a perfect alternative to dragging out the grill!

  1. Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas
  2. Flour Tortillas Obviously you can use store-bought tortillas here (gasp).  When I do buy instead of make (please don’t tell anyone) my favorite are the Mission Homestyle)
  3. Corn tortillas (for the GF one)

Friday

I make this a lot because it is soooo good.  I love it.  My kids love it.  My husband tolerates it because he would starve otherwise.  Seriously, this has replaced traditional Chicken Alfredo for us.  You must serve this hot.  Don’t let it sit on the stove.  Also, this is my go-to bread recipe.  I use it most often because it truly is one of the quickest ways to have fresh french-like bread.

  1. Creamy Chicken Fettuccine
  2. Garlic Cheesy Bread

Saturday

We almost always eat out on Saturday because we attend the Sat. evening service at our church.  Tonight it was Hideaway Pizza.  Liberty’s choice because she was baptized and the fam was in town to celebrate the occasion.

Sunday

Oh, I loathe cooking on Sunday.  I just want to sit in the sun and read a book and have someone bring me food and maybe a Strawberry Daiquiri.  Is that too much to ask?  Unfortunately, I do not live on a beach in Jamaica, so we need something quick and easy.

  1. Taco Pizza

Happy Menu Planning!

This entry was posted in What's for Dinner? and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

