What’s for Dinner? Week Two.

Have you ever spent a bazillion dollars on groceries with no thought whatsoever to menu planning. You go to Wal-Mart or Target and you just troll the aisles in a trance, grabbing things off the shelf and throwing them in the cart. Oh how the those corporate marketing gurus must love it when I do that. Anyway, I’m pretty sure I have exceeded my grocery budget for the next week…month..errr…well anyway. This week I must be creative and cook whatever it is that I purchased. Here we go…

Warning: I’m afraid this week will be dreadfully lacking in the vegetable department. Apparently in my Wal-Mart induced trance, I skipped the produce section.

Meatless Monday

These beans are so yummy and so flavorful. I usually serve these beans with Jamaican Barbequed Pork Tenderloin. Feel free to go for it, if you aren’t committed to Meatless Monday. As a side-note, I have broiled the tenderloin instead of grilling and it worked great.  The Coconut bake is heavenly and quick.  It has a wonderful coconut smell, but it doesn’t taste overpowering.  Because it doesn’t have to rise as long as a yeastier bread, it is super quick to make.

Notes: The Red Beans are going to be super spicy if you add all the Cayenne and hot sauce.  I cut way back on the hot stuff so my kids can eat it!  For the bread, preheat the oven to 200 degrees and then turn it off.  Cover the bread with plastic wrap and let it rise in the warm oven for 3o min.

  1. Caribbean Red Beans and Brown Rice
  2. Coconut Bake (Classic Caribbean Bread)

Tuesday

To make up for Meatless Monday, I’m going all out with steak today.  Ribeye, but you just substitute your favorite cut!  If there is anything that can equal my love of bread, it’s french fries.  It’s a vegetable, right?

  1. Marinated Steak – I threw these beauties on the grill.
  2. French Fries

Wednesday

I hate winter.  I hate the cold.  The only redeeming factor about winter is that I can eat as much soup as I want.  I love soup.  My kids love soup.  I make a lot of soup.  This is definitely a favorite.

  1. Potato Soup
  2. French Bread

Notes:  For the potato soup, I use at least 2 tsp of salt.  For the bread, I used my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook to knead the bread.  I also used bread flour and it’s definitely going to take all 7 cups.  Definitely cut the french bread into 3 equal portions unless you want ridiculously large loafs. Oh, and I almost forgot, this is the best bread in the whole wide world!

Thursday

We ate at Steve’s Rib tonight.  We used to take my daughter, Lilly, there and tonight we celebrated her 5th year anniversary of going home to be with Jesus.  However, if you are looking for a quick meal, try some Cajun Chicken Pasta.  Yum.

Friday

The sauce on this pasta is ridiculously creamy and delish.  Even my pasta-hating husband approves this meal.

  1. Grilled Chicken Florentine Spaghetti
  2. Remember that bread from Wednesday?  Pop that back in the oven for a few minutes and serve it again!

Notes:  You definitely want to add salt and pepper to the pasta sauce.  I use white pepper.  Grate the parm on a microplane if you have one and it will melt beautifully into the sauce.

Saturday

You have to make this.  Don’t be intimidated by the steps.  This meal is sooooo good.  Admittedly, I had a little trouble eating something so….green at first.  Don’t think about it and just dig in.  You won’t regret it!

  1. Cafe Tacuba-Style Creamy Chicken Enchiladas
  2. Mexican Rice

Sunday

The perfect Sunday meal.

  1. Sloppy Joes
  2. I always serve with Kettle Chips.
This entry was posted in What's for Dinner? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

